Review: Slingshot Dakota – Break

Artist: Slingshot Dakota
Album: Break (LISTEN)
Released: March 11, 2016
Genre: Indie punk

On Friday night, Slingshot Dakota returns home to Bethlehem to hold a hometown album release show for its newest release, “Break.” The duo, which released its newest effort on Topshelf Records, blend indie pop instrumentation and atmospheric distortion to re-imagine popularized genres.

“Break” grabs you right away with dreamy distortion on album opener, “You,” which pulls a listener into an atmospheric soundscape that is contrasted on the next track, the grunge-influenced, fuzzy “Monocacy.”

Pop sensibilities reign over a couple of tracks, like the laid-back “Lewlyweds,” which carries a Minus the Bear-esque vibe, and “Paycheck,” an anthemic tune and clear candidate as the album’s first single.

Slingshot Dakota shows an affinity for balladry on “Break.” The searching, stripped-down “Too Much” laments a love on its last legs, while the album’s title track closes things out with a sweet-sounding performance from vocalist Carly Comando.

Overall, Slingshot Dakota’s “Break” builds a wall of sound that should carry well into the Bethlehem night on Friday. The duo returns home this weekend with much to celebrate.

Track listing:
1) You
2) Monocacy
3) Lewlyweds
4) Stay
5) Doreen
6) Paycheck
7) Too Much
8) Storytellers
9) Break

Leave a Reply