Review: The Road Sodas EP

Artist: The Road Sodas
Album: Self-titled
Released: Mar. 17, 2017
Genre: Hardcore Punk

AC, drummer for Nazareth punks The Road Sodas, forever has the distinction of being the featured artist in our 500th post, an interview with LVU contributor Ambrose Tardive.

On St. Patrick’s Day, he and his bandmates distinguished themselves further, this time as one of the heaviest, grooviest punk bands the Valley has seen in recent memory with the release of their self-titled EP, recorded, mixed, and mastered by Nate West.

From the opening track – appropriately named “Arrival” – The Road Sodas make a statement powered by AC’s fast, powerful beats alongside heavy guitars from Nick Wilson and lead vocalist Salty Dog. The frontman has a commanding presence throughout the EP, helping the rage of hardcore punk truly shine on “The Oath,” and helping to set a tone of impending doom on “The Devil’s Work.” The latter of which features a bassline from Tyler Kern that gets the track off and running with a sense of urgency.

Though the self-titled effort remains quite heavy throughout, there are some downright danceable moments. “Symphony of the Dead” has plenty of life in the rhythm section, while “Meet the Jones’” features the band peppering in some ska and dance rock influences. Check it out below!

Track listing:
The Oath
Symphony of the Dead
The Devil’s Work
Meet the Jones’

Leave a Reply